JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am interested in taking my AR to practical rifle at tri-county, but I can't seem to find much information about it. I haven't done any practical long-gun competitions before, but I've been shooting IPSC/USPSA for the past 6 months. Who should I get in touch with? Is there any safety training I have to do beforehand or is it enough that I do IPSC? How much ammo should I bring? Any other tips or suggestions?

Also, if anyone knows of any 2-gun competitions around Oregon, I would definitely be interested in that as well.

Thanks!

I am interested in taking my AR to practical rifle at tri-county, but I can't seem to find much information about it. I haven't done any practical long-gun competitions before, but I've been shooting IPSC/USPSA for the past 6 months. Who should I get in touch with? Is there any safety training I have to do beforehand or is it enough that I do IPSC? How much ammo should I bring? Any other tips or suggestions?

Also, if anyone knows of any 2-gun competitions around Oregon, I would definitely be interested in that as well.

Thanks!
Hi,
You should show up with your AR on the 2nd Saturday of every month except December...that month is the Night Match where no new shooters (TYROs) are allowed to participate. You'll need about 100- 150 rounds of lead-core ammo. No steel core is allowed and , if you're caught with it, you'll be DQ'd on the spot and made fun of...
You will need to bring a soft or hard rile case, a chamber flag (available when you sign up before the match for about $1) and ear and eye protection. There are usually only two categories, iron sights and optical sights.
For your first match, you'll be paired with an "experienced" shooter and he/she will help you through each of the four (usually) stages.