JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
is this good enough? (the tick marks are 1" apart...)

556 100yds.jpg

Best quote: "If you can't do it with irons, don't bother with optics"

I dont know... there's something about this quote that bothers me. I mean I get the sentiment, under ideal circumstances. But then that probably disqualifies the majority of riflemen out there and the rifle is supposed to be like the equalizer. The author talks about the practical use of the rifle for defense and I think its practical to set up your rifle the way it works best for the person. That might be an optic

Im just a layman though, maybe Im missing a point somewhere.

Im just a layman though, maybe Im missing a point somewhere.

Ha! The "Laymen" were the Minute Men, the Green Mountain Boys, Mosby's and Roger's Rangers...:D
They kicked azz!

I think you got the point just fine sir; I agree with the basis of article...(don't want to go meta).

The AR platform isn't a single "acumen" design; it can do almost anything it is (properly) set up for.

But, the idea that small shot groups by themselves; over and over again, in canned training situations, is the "end-all".....that is my idea of a possible fallacy.

In the minds of a defender or attacker; training should be more about adapting to every (foreseeable) condition; the most practical, the most relevant, and the most difficult; although not for beginners, (iron sights, night, gas mask, ambidextrous, etc.)

Training in the most adverse conditions possible (then going advanced) usually turns out the most agile and capable fighters.