JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Who all is going? I've never done a night shoot before, anyone got any tips?

yeah, wear lots of light sticks!

Nah, it's going to be cold and possibly snowing. Last year there was little wind and there were visibility issues- clouds of steam in front of the shooter that would obscure the view of the target and reflect any light source.

Bring some good clear safety glasses and rub some Johnsons Baby Shampoo on the inside surfaces of the lenses, then buff it off. This will at least keep the fogging down.

I'm also planning to ditch my ACOG if the fog or precip is too much...I'll switch to backup night-irons.

Lastly, eat well and dress warm.
Leave the cotton at home and use GI surplus wool if you need the basics.
Shivering is no way to shoot!

I plan on going if my light mount ever shows up. I heard a rumor it was in the action pits.....? Or is it in the big pit as usual?

Unless there has been a sudden rules change, AR15 rifles (or any rifle, I believe) cannot be used at the action range. It's got to be in the rock pit, as usual. For those of you who are not on the PR mailing list, I have taken the liberty of including the text of Randy's message on the match:

Well, it's gonna be cold, dark and maybe wet on Saturday December 12th, perfect for the Practical Rifle Night Match:

NOTE: No Tyros allowed at this match. You must have already shot a TCGC Practical Rifle match in order to shoot the night match. Also, spectators will not be allowed at this match, only competitors. Shooting at night has special safety considerations. Everyone will be expected to be on their safest behavior during this match.

The safety briefing and stage explanations start at 1600 hours. Don't expect to shoot if you miss them. I suggest you bring something to eat as we will not be providing any food.