JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hello everyone,

I went shooting with my Mosins a few weeks ago, I cleaned them like normal and put them away. When I pulled them out today, the metal was almost completely covered in what looks like powdered rust. How did this happen?

My cleaning steps:

Boiling water down the barrel, patches.
Bore solvent, patches.
Oil, patches. Then a final patch with oil on it.

Am I doing something wrong? Did I not dry the pieces enough? I'm scared, please help! I couldn't live with myself if I were responsible for wrecking these beautiful guns.

It's not on the wood, which I assume means it is rust. I'm also new to guns so if anyone notices me doing anything wrong, please tell me!

I've wiped it off, but the fact that they went away clean and came back out dirty worries me. I also store them in a set of old school lockers, would these be letting moisture or something in to the guns? I don't have a gun safe yet, unfortunately, but I have a basement room, it's never damp or humid, almost always around 60 degrees and dry.

Cheers,
Drame22

EDIT: It's also all over the bayonets!? What IS this stuff?

might not seem humid but basements are almost always humid to some degree at least 40%, the lockers don't provide any sort of barrier either. use an old fridge that has a good seal would be better. a 5 gallon bucket of descant would help if the fridge is not an option.

So it sounds like you were shooting corrosive ammo. Personally I've shot corrosive ammo and I try to avoid it as much as possible. I saw your post in another section and I had recommended BALLISTOL.