JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Was finally able to get some reloading gear. I'm looking to get some tips on powders I can use for 30-06, 270, and 45 auto. A powder that will work for all 3 is ideal, because I'm still learning. But at the very least I'd like something that will work for 270 and 30-06. Especially since I haven't gotten 45 dies yet. I'm basically looking to have a list that I can walk into a sporting goods store with to compare to what they have in stock to find something I can use to get started with. Thanks in advance.

For the rifle cartridges, I would go with something tried and true. IMR 4064, IMR 4895, Winchester 760, Hodgdon's Varget or something like that. You will not load the 45 with the same powders as the rifle. I have always loved Hodgdon's Titegroup and Alliant's Bullseye. Titegroup is a very universal powder for pistols and very consistent in that even in cases with a lot of capacity, no matter the placement of the charge, consistent and thorough burning is virtually guaranteed.

There are so many options out there and if you really get into it, you will without a doubt find "better" things along the way. I recommend going to hodgdon.com, where you can look at their load data and compare what powders do what. Hodgdon makes their namesake, IMR and Winchester powders. I am a big fan of their line, though my favorite and most used powder is Alliant's 2400 for all my revolver loads. Unique works great as well for revolver loads. Good luck to you and welcome to handloading. It is a fine hobby and can save you a lot of money.