JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm sure this has been discussed before, but I'm new to loading lead cast and am getting quite a bit of lead build up.

Equipment:
Pistol: XDM-9
Bullets: Missouri Bullet Smallball, 125g (or is it 124?)
Powder: Hodgdon HP-38

So I started playing with lead cast pistol bullets when I joined the Vancouver Rifle and Pistol Club a few months back. They require lead cast bullets and limit to 1000 ft/s.

I started by testing to find a load that shot right at 1000 ft/s. Working up from 3.4g, I found that 3.8g of HP-38 got me right at 1000 ft/s. Problem is that I am getting quite a bit of lead build up.

I've read a few places that with a Brinell Hardness of 18, the Missouri Smallball 9mm's cause less leading when pushed faster, up around 1150-1200 ft/s. This kind of seems counter intuitive, but the explanation is you have to deform the back end of the bullet to fill the rifling otherwise the blowby will fill up the groves.

Can anyone comment on this? Do I really need to be upping my powder charge to reduce leading? If any one has used HP-38 (or 231) powder with Missouri Smallball 9m's, I'd love to hear some feedback.

On a completely unrelated note, what's the best method for cleaning a barrel fowled up with lead? Is there a specific type of solvent or brush that tends to work better than others?

Thanks