JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I just saw this on the Portland Tribune's website....

http://pamplinmedia.com/pt/10-opini...-a-positive-step-for-oregonians#disqus_thread

Dr. Gene Uphoff

As an Oregon medical professional, I am encouraged to see our leaders in Salem using this legislative session to take positive steps to improve the health of Oregonians and help build safer communities around our state.

As a doctor, I am all too familiar with the toll of gun violence on our communities. From my vantage point, there is an inescapable conclusion: Gun violence is a public health crisis.

The statistics, both nationally and here in Oregon, are unsettling as they are convincing. Nationally, 30,000 Americans die from gunshot wounds every single year. Here in Oregon, each year there are more fatalities from firearms than from motor vehicle traffic accidents, according to one study ("Gun Deaths Outpace Motor Vehicle Deaths in 14 States and the District of Columbia in 2011," Violence Policy Center, July 2014).

The good news is there is now legislation before them that would take some reasonable steps toward making Oregon a safer place to live. Last month, leaders in the Legislature introduced a bill that would close the loophole in Oregon law that allows some guns to be purchased without a background check.

I urge our leaders to pass this responsible legislation. By making this small, commonsense change to our laws, we can ensure that background checks are required for all gun purchases. Doing so will help keep guns out of the wrong hands and reduce gun violence in Oregon.