JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey everybody.

I'm new to Oregon and was wondering if you could help out with a question.

I'm picking up a new handgun from a license FFL dealer within Portland city limits. I do not have access to a vehicle and will be walking or taking public transportation back to my place.

The firearm will be unloaded within the new case it comes with. I will not have any ammo on me either. If I throw the case in my backpack with the unloaded new handgun, will I be fine? Also if yes, could you cite part of the ors or code which addresses on foot transport. Everything talks about a locked container in a vehicle.

For the future I would like to know if I walk or take public transportation to a local range and I do have ammo a separate in my backpack would that be okay.

Some background, I am currently a resident with an Oregon ID. I am waiting on the county to get back to me about the Chl interview.

Any advice would be appreciated
Thanks.

Dont have the code(s) but you'll be fine if its in a case in a backpack with no ammo anywhere. Just like if you were riding a bicycle transporting it. It just cant be readily accessible. Probably wouldn't hurt to put a small lock on the case.