Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Plastic mags for AK 47?

Discussion in 'Rifle Discussion' started by hackercat13, Sep 25, 2011.

1. hackercat13

hackercat13 Steilacoom, WA Active Member

Hey all!
    I am fairly new to AKs, and have a question about mags for some of you with much more experience than I. I have always stuck to metal mags, both for my AR-15 (the Army issued me metal mags!) and now for my AK. I know people swear by Pmags and magpul studd for ARs, but what about plastic/polymer mags for the AK platform?

Opinions, experiences, preferences welcome and appreciated!
    Chris

2. rdb241

rdb241 Puyallup Washington Gold Supporter Gold Supporter

Bugarian waffle circle 10 mags are the best polymeer mags out there for the AK platform. They compare to Pmags for the AR platform.

3. bruzer

bruzer Grants Pass, OR Well-Known Member

I am interested in the responses too.
    Mike

4. trainsktg

trainsktg Portland OR Well-Known Member

I use Tapcos in my NHM91 and Promags in my Saiga 12. Supposedly two of the worst brands out there but I've never experienced a problem with any of them. But I don't use them daily. I also have SGMs and AGPs for both of my Saigas and they've worked 100% too.

Metal feed lips are generally considered superior to plastic.

Keith

5. CleverName

CleverName Southern Oregon Active Member

The only polymer mags I would use on an AK are the Bulgarian Circle 10s or Finnish Greens (rare). Some have used Tapco and Promag and never had an issue, and you may not either. But for me, I would not use any USA made AK magazines. This includes US Palm. They are usually not metal reinforced in the feed lips or locking lug or both.

6. halmbarte

halmbarte PDX Active Member

Bulgarian ((10)) or commie metal. All the others are pretty much crap.

H

7. Stomper

Stomper Oceania Rising White Is The New Brown Silver Supporter