JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
howdy

i'm thinking about building a pistol caliber AR, looking for some info from those of you who happen to have some advanced knowledge

my background is in 223/556 ARs- i've been building, armoring, and shooting this platform for over a decade, including professionally at times.. my working knowledge is very strong. but take my outside that realm, and i know basically nothing.

i DO know that pistol caliber ARs are blowback, and at least the 9mm models require either a dedicated hammer or a ramped carrier.. that thats about it.

so.. some questions:

-WHY do 9mm ARs require one of these mods?
-do other pistol calibers require those mods?
-do 9mms use dedicated bolts, or does the standard 556 bolt work?
-what's availability of internal parts like for other pistol calibers?
-why do 9mm uppers have modified port doors and big, hideous brass deflectors?
-do other pistol calibers require this mod?
-is the upper modded in other ways, or will a standard forged AR upper work?
-can 9mm conversions be made to accept glock mags?

thats all i can think of off the top of my head, for now

thanks

Why not stay with tried and true and common? With a pistol round your going to pay about the same for ammo, get less capacity, and less velocity and energy. It looks like a high cost mod with no return. What am I missing?

this thread is NOT to debate the merits, or lack of, of pistol caliber ARs. straight up.

Sorry. I have always wondered why the AR platform was used for pistol cal's and thought this was the time and place to get that question answered. Didn't know I started a debate. Sorry I may have taken to much liberty in asking a random question. Straight up.