JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm not interested in anyone's political perspective on this issue and I'd really like to have this thread not get closed because it became political. I am interested in your philosophical perspective as it relates to the following:

What is the difference between requiring a person who operates a vehicle (in essence exercising a priviledge) to have a minimum amount of insurance and requiring a person to have health insurance? Should a gun owner have to carry liability insurance similar to the minimum requirements for vehicle owners?

I been driving since 1973 in that time I have been involved in or my autos have been involved in 9 accidents that could have or did involve an insurance company. I have been shooting on my own with no adult supper vision since I was 10 in 1968 in that time I have never had a reason to involve insurance with my shooting sports.

And see Nwcid above.

short answer. NO... longer answer, as home owners the wife and i pay extra in the form of an umbrella policy, in case some crackhead decides to kill himself on my property, or, somebody trips on something on my property, or some body runs down the neighborhood dog walker, branches fall out of the tree. whatever. i believe we are also covered so long as a court of law doesnt find me guilty of commiting a crime while killing the perp.:s0155:

Carrying ins on your car is mandatory on the liability side. You must be able to pay a minimum amount if you do damage to others property etc. while exercising your privilege to drive.

There is no mandate to carry car insurance that covers damage to your own vehicle, or your own life. If you acquired a loan to buy it, the lender may require vehicle coverage as a condition of the loan, but the state doesn't as a condition to own/drive it.