JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Buckle up y'all and learn from my expensive but lucky mistake. Long time shooter and consider myself very safe around firearms. (Don't we all.) Finally pulled the trigger and purchased a long-awaited 1911 in 45 auto. My first 45 but I've been shooting a 38 Super 1911 for 20 years.

Picked up the new 1911 in November and have about 200 rounds through it. I'm retired LEO so I'm fortunate enough that my old agency allots some ammo for us each month. Headed off to the range yesterday and grabbed some of the 45 ammo...mostly. The ammo is in giant boxes about a foot square and 8 inches deep, filled with ammo. Three boxes, 45, 40 and 9 sitting about two feet apart. Bet most of you see where this is going.

Set 15 rounds down range, smiling at my nice group. Next mag, first round, click. Well it's a new gun and pretty stiff still so I'm thinking I didn't seat the mag all the way or it didn't strip off the first round. I wait just in case of a hang fire, cautiously open the slide and see no round in the chamber. Drop the slide, touched off a round, well, you see where this is going.

Very different sound when a 40 cal detonates in front of a 45. Guess I can say I've now shot an 85 magnum. The good part. No one was hurt. The remains of the 40 case is sticking out of my barrel and I presume 230 grains of copper and lead close behind. Slide is locked almost shut because the entire underside of the barrel is filleted open (after the armorer removed the spring so we could see under the barrel.