JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.

Would you handload and shoot bullets that measured .2252" dia in a .223 chamber

• Total voters
Reactions
For reasons I dont want to go into details but I ran into a problem and since Im still kinda new to reloading I want to ask a question to see if its me or not...

I ordered some new bullets and wanted to check my jump to the lands and discovered they jammed the lands before they reached SAAMI maximum coal length.

I used a micrometer to measure the bullets diameter and they measured .2252" diameter (average). The rifle caliber is .223.

would you load and shoot these?

I dunno. That seems pretty tight...
Yeah, Im completely on hold with these. I should emphasise that I cant reach SAAMI maximum COAL without jamming the lands. Other bullets are fine with a long jump to the lands from SAAMI max.

I don't sweat the OAL too much if paying attention to the lands. Many different nose profiles cause issues like this. But that bullet diameter is an absolute.

Brand and style of bullet?
not right now, Im waiting to hear from the mfg about a refund or solution and dont want to give anyone a bad rap if they treat me well.
I just need to know if Im missing something on my end experience wise.

I don't sweat the OAL too much if paying attention to the lands. Many different nose profiles cause issues like this. But that bullet diameter is an absolute.
Im not certain... These are caliber .223 rem so they should measure .2245" +0 / -.003" per SAAMI is that correct?
I want to emphasise again that I cant even reach SAAMI maximum COAL length without jamming the lands. My guess is the ogive is related to the oversized diameter and is whats hitting the lands prematurely. These jam/touch the lands at 2.233" (avg), saami max is 2.260". To me not being able to load -within- saami spec is a huge red flag.