JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm 19 and live in Oregon. My brother in law is wanting to sell his Taurus and I really want to add it to my safe. I believe in family safety and have used this particular 9mm before, so I know how to handle it. I know that by law he is considered immediate family in oregon ( not sure about elsewhere) and am just wondering about the legality of it. Could I buy it from him or would it have to be a gift? I know that in oregon anyone over 18 can legally own a handgun and can even open carry it, and I know I can't buy one from an FFL but can I buy one from him?

if he gifts it to your wife and then she gifts it to you im sure thats fine. no BGC.

X2. I'm not a lawyer, but as I understand it... under ORS 166.435(4)(c) an in-law does not qualify as an "immediate family member" for the sake of exemption of a BGC. All the better if the firearm was aquired during their marriage and is considered community property, but as v0lcom13sn0w noted... it's perfectly legal for your BIL to give his wife a firearm. If your sister wants to give "you" a firearm then that's perfectly fine as well.

That being said... there is definately some "gray area" there. Most of which boils down to "intent". You have to decide for yourselves where your comfort level lay, but for me and my house... it would be a non-issue.

On a completely unrelated topic... if you decided one day to float a few bucks your sisters way to help buy diapers, this, that, the other... or just because you're a cool brother and felt like it... there's no law against that. ;)

Last Edited: