Oregon Law concerning handguns and minors (<21 years of age)

Discussion in 'Legal & Political Archive' started by Oathkeeper1775, Jan 29, 2013.

  1. Oathkeeper1775

    Oathkeeper1775
    Coast Range
    VINCE AUT MORIRE Bronze Supporter

    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    1,741
    I'm wondering if anyone can reply "off-hand" which Oregon Statute restricts persons under the age of 21 from owning or possessing a handgun.

    I've scrubbed the ORS several times and I cannot find a reference.

    From time to time I talk with a person (<21) who tells me they cannot even purchase HG ammo in Oregon.

    Being a person who finds great comfort in knowing the legal-sources of our freedoms and restrictions, I am haunted by the idea that this "restriction" could simply be heuristics, hear-say or plain-ole discrimination against our younger HG enthusiasts.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. accessbob

    accessbob
    Molalla, OR
    2A Supporter

    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    752
    ............
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2013
  3. civilian75

    civilian75
    Hillsboro, OR
    Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    629
  4. drew

    drew
    OR
    Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,051
    Likes Received:
    970
    The 21 year age requirement is a federal requirement only if you're buying from a dealer.

    The minimum age to buy any firearm in Oregon per ORS 166.470 is 18 years.

    http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/166.470
     
    rur862 and (deleted member) like this.
  5. Oathkeeper1775

    Oathkeeper1775
    Coast Range
    VINCE AUT MORIRE Bronze Supporter

    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    1,741
    Hah!

    No wonder I couldn't find it in the ORS.

    Much thanks and admiration for the speedy research & reply sir.
     
  6. accessbob

    accessbob
    Molalla, OR
    2A Supporter

    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    752
    ..........
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2013
  7. hermannr

    hermannr
    Okanogan Highlands
    Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    873
    No, you are restricted (to a point) in owning and purchasing a handgun if you are under 18, not 21. You a "Minor" when you have "not attaind you 18th birthday". Minors cannot vote, own property in their name...etc (with exceptions)

    If you are under 21 you may no purchase from a LICENESED DEALER (read FFL), but you may purchase a handgun at 18 from a private party...receive one as a give from someone, inherit one...etc..You MAY OWN a pistol at 18.

    ORS 166.250(1)(c)(A)
     
  8. rur862

    rur862
    Seattle
    Active Member

    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    165
    Post Deleted.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2014
  9. civilian75

    civilian75
    Hillsboro, OR
    Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    629
    You don't need a scanner. Just take a picture with your phone camera.
     

Share This Page