Or what fees would likely be charged for the training at range time. We know the permit itself is $65 but nothing states the cost for the actual mandatory training requirement. Wouldn't expect it to be economical either.The Pro-guy (I apologize, his name eludes me) noted the Fiscal Impact info. That's available at https://sos.oregon.gov/elections/Pages/committee-meetings.aspx, as https://sos.oregon.gov/elections/Documents/fec/IP-17-2022-FEC-analysis-draft-updated-for-8-5.pdf, and for highlights, OSP thinks it needs 31 new staff costing $5,206,030 in 2023-25, and $8,069,734 for FBI background checks and database development and other stuff, same period.
Sheriffs estimate 300,000 applications;
SO, $39 million in income against about $60 million in expenses in 2023-2025, if I've sorted that out properly.
And we have not yet figured in ranges for the
or the development and staffing of a certification process for the instructors.
Factoring in SB554 good luck if you don't already own a gun on getting this required training in since you can't be loaned a gun as transfer of a non secured gun is negligence per se as it's written. Yeah that's class A misdemeanor violation with fees jail time or both.
Washington county nor Multnomah county have any program for this required training either from law enforcement and that's two of the biggest counties in Oregon.