JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
After hiking in a remote park in western Oregon yesterday i noticed a sign that said no firearms. It seemed to me that the sign/rule was to prevent hunting and target shooting and not CWP holders. I should probably know this but i don't. Can you carry concealed on state parks in OR?
Thanks for the help, just trying to stay legal.

I'm not a lawyer, thus mileage may very.

It is my understanding that in Oregon, the CHL permits carry of firearms in State Parks. And by extension, at a Federal level because Oregon allows CHL and Obama didn't override it, you can also carry in National Forests and National Parks. As for the no firearm signs, lots of places have no firearm signs but few of them have the right to enforce them.

I will note, that 'firearm hunting' laws get really sticky though. But they apply to people who are hunting, of course you proving that you weren't trying to hunt is where the rubber meets the road.

Concealed, is Concealed.

M

If it was a State Park you do not need a CHL and there should not been a sign (unless it was F&W and then only applies to long guns), if it was a county or other park, you do need some type of carry license to open carry loaded, CHL works, but so do others. You need to look at the law cited to figure that part out. You do need an OR CHL if you conceal anywhere in OR.

As for the concealed statement, completely out of line. If you will read ORS 166.173, you will see that the state law allows local giovernments to prohibit unlicensed LOADED (and only loaded) OC under certain circumstances. However, it gives the local governments NO right to restrict ANY open carry with a license, any governmental authority's license (Yes, My WA CPL too)