JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
So the local precision rifle shooters got to me and I want to go play. I have zero experience in shooting at anything over 500 yards and even that far out is a rare occasion for me.

I saw a Ruger Precision Rifle reasonable and snagged it up and now am in the hunt for glass.

From what I have read I have kind of settled on a Vortex Viper 6x24 x 50 PST FFP

Mostly because it seems like the most scope for the dough ($800 ish)

I know there is better stuff but I am looking at sub $1000 stuff.

Is there anything else I should consider and why?

All of this is beyond my skill lever at the moment but I am hoping to grow into it and I want equipment that will work as I get better (hopefully) but i just am not going to buy a $2500 optic at this point. Not only am I not capable of utilizing it I don't even know enough to know what I don't know.

You probably wont need the lit reticle for LR shooting. I have an HST on my Rem and its a fine scope for a little less.
Amazon.com : Vortex Viper HS-T 6-24x50mm Riflescope w/ VMR-1 MOA Reticle, Black VHS-4325 : Sports & Outdoors
IMG_0540_zpsvo1gcx2i.jpg

I found one of the discontinued Weaver super Slam's for my RPR. Red and geen lit retcle, 4-20x. Great glass, made in Japan. They went all the way down to under $400, but I dont know if you could still find one.

IMG_0104_zpsekwasp8s.jpg

for what it's worth, i sold my Vortex Viper and replaced it with a Leupold VX-3i LRP after i got to look through one at the range. They are both in the same price range. I think you will be happy with the Leupold, i know i am.