JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
My daughter admitted to me yesterday she made a mistake in buying her Mitsubishi Montaro and should have bought a pickup like she wanted so now she has her eye on a real nice 2001 F-150 four door short box. Good looking truck. It has a 6" lift with what are probably 35" Toyos (go figure - my daughter is 5'2" - she looked like a midget standing next to it) BUT I have no experience with the Triton engines - please advise!

My next door neighbor has one. He is a mechanic and takes good care of it, and it has taken good care of him. Horrible gas mileage, but a solid engine from what I have seen and heard him say. He has been a mechanic for longer than I have been alive, and I trust what he has to say. As with any used car though, the engine quality or reputation takes back seat to how that individual motor was serviced. If the previous owners pulled heavy loads and changed the oil every 10k miles then it will most likely not be a good engine no matter what others are getting out of their motors.

I had a 2001 F150 Supercrew (four door shortbox) with the 5.4l Triton until about a year ago (I sold it to buy a Jeep that I could pull behind my motorhome). I got at best about 18mpg on the highway, a little over 15.5 tooling around town. I had no trouble with the engine and would buy another vehicle equipped with one. It was a very powerful and quick truck. My motorhome has the big brother V10 Triton and it is a powerhouse. The only issue I know of is that the heads are aluminum, so you can't indiscriminately torque the spark plugs after you change them, or you could strip the threads. The good news is you don't have to even consider changing them until after 100k. One of my old company's work F150s had over 250k on the original plugs; the engine ran fine and the mileage was still very good.

Keith