Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Opening New Gunsmith/Engraving Shop

Discussion in 'Business Discussion & Reviews' started by NWCustomFirearms, Jan 19, 2013.

1. NWCustomFirearms

NWCustomFirearms Vancouver, WA Bronze Vendor Bronze Vendor

Thought I would edit this post to accurately reflect what I am doing. Upon lots of research I have come to the conclusion that while a good hot blue is the pinnacle of a good shop I just can't find the market for it. It seems that everyone is leaning towards the spray on finishes. I do bead blasting and an leaning towards cerakote finishing. I am a graduate of the Colorado School of Trades back in '99 and will be offering gunsmithing. I was also a glock armorer for 6 years but didn't renew since it's a glock, not much had changed. I love building 10/22's so ill be offering custom packages on those and other popular platforms as well.

We are also starting custom laser engraving. While we are waiting on the ATF we are ONLY taking non regulated parts ie slides, uppers, grips, stocks, mags etc... NO lowers, frames etc until the license is finalized (not going to mess with the ATF). Part must fit in my machine which is 12"x18". We won't be dealing in new guns but over time will be dealing in used guns.

Pm me with questions and company name, we were at the open carry event last Saturday here in vancouver and were the company who donated the mugs they were giving away.

Thanks for reading

Last edited: May 1, 2013
  2. PDXSparky

PDXSparky Keizer / Hillsboro Well-Known Member

Being able to thread barrels would be a good service to offer. I've seen several people post here looking for a "local" guy to thread a rifle barrel. Anyway, best of luck in your new endeavor.

3. Ironbar

Ironbar Tigard, OR Well-Known Member

Having the ability to do trigger jobs on firearms would be a big help!

Russ1590 and (deleted member) like this.
  4. NWCustomFirearms