JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Background. I'm still a bit of a newbie, but I do my have CPL and I've picked up a couple of pistols. I'm starting to wonder what I might purchase for a concealed pistol (CCW).

Question. If one ever got into a "situation" (whatever that may be, and to whatever depth), what are the odds of getting the pistol back if it was confiscated by law enforcement?

I'm asking since I'm debating how much to spend on a CCW pistol. Yes, I'm considering factors such as reliability and my ability to shoot that pistol well. There are some lovely pistols out there such as a Dan Wesson 1911. However, I'm wondering if I should spend less for the CCW and relegate the expensive pistols to just weekend fun at the range.

In addition, I have no desire to go out and be Rambo. After reading the posting below (the original posting, not the debates) I am beginning to realize that there could be situations where one is forced to show the pistol or draw. It got me wondering the "what if" scenarios for when law enforcement might want to see or confiscate the weapon even if it wasn't fired by me.
http://www.northwestfirearms.com/strategies-tactics-training/80765-street-robberies-you-basics.html

Any input on laws or actual experiences are appreciated.

Peter

I think, more than anything else, this is dependent on location, location, location. I live in a very rural county...I think that police/sheriff depts out here are far more understanding of why/when force is used than more urban/metro places.

Personally, I would be more concerned with shot placement than on worrying about the afterwards. Take care of business FIRST, then worry about other stuff. If you are worrying about "what if" when the time comes, you'll be slow to react.