JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Why do you want to take NRA instructor's classes?

NRA instructors classes give you a BASE level of understanding of the curriculum that they teach. But more to the point, they teach the average person a TON about teaching itself.

Most solid shooters I know are crap at teaching others. there's a lot to know, from diagnosing deficient points in technique to how to talk to little old ladies vs. the gung-ho idiot young guys.

A good training counselor can make a WORLD of difference in your initial teaching skills. -The difference between a waste of time and a solid instructional, informative and enjoyable course.

I've been teaching firearms for years now and I STILL rely on a few of the things I learned in my NRA instructors course. I've been training people in various things for 30 years and I'm not tooting my own horn by admitting that I'm damn good at it. Hundreds of students will attest to that fact.

But TEACHING firearms is it's very own animal. And the NRA trainer's courses are a solid introduction on how to teach shooting.

It's not enough to know how to DO it. You have to be able to communicate that information to others, many of whom will have vastly different ideas about guns than you do at the start of the course.

I consider my own personal great successes to be the cases where I've turned someone terrified of guns into someone who sees them as nothing more than a useful tool and enjoyed the exposure.