Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Non-Gun Owner's to Registar & Pay $500 Fee?

Discussion in 'Legal & Political Archive' started by Frog, Oct 27, 2009.

  1. Frog

    Frog Vancouver, Washington Member

    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    9
    I just got this e-mail from a friend. I love it! What a concept!! Anyway, being a septic, I tried to get some confirmation (or denial) from Snopes. No luck. Anybody know anything about this?

    Subject: A Gun Registration Plan I like!
    Vermont State Rep. Fred Maslack has read the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, as well as Vermont's own Constitution very carefully, and his strict interpretation of these documents is popping some eyeballs in New England and elsewhere.

    Maslack recently proposed a bill to register "non-gun-owners" and require them to pay a $500 fee to the state. Thus Vermont would become the first state to require a permit for the luxury of going about unarmed and assess a fee of $500 for the privilege of not owning a gun.

    Maslack read the "militia" phrase of the Second Amendment as not only affirming the right of the individual citizen to bear arms, but as a clear mandate to do so. He believes that universal gun ownership was advocated by the Framers of the Constitution as an antidote to a "monopoly of force" by the government as well as criminals.

    Vermont 's constitution states explicitly that "the people have a right to bear arms for the defense of themselves and the State" and those persons who are "conscientiously scrupulous of bearing arms" shall be required to "pay such equivalent." Clearly, says Maslack, Vermonters have a constitutional obligation to arm themselves, so that they are capable of responding to "any situation that may arise."

    Under the bill, adults who choose not to own a firearm would be required to register their name, address, Social Security Number, and driver's license number with the state. "There is a legitimate government interest in knowing who is not prepared to defend the state should they be asked to do so," Maslack says.


    Vermont already boasts a high rate of gun ownership along with the least restrictive laws of any state. It's currently the only state that allows a citizen to carry a concealed firearm without a permit. This combination of plenty of guns and few laws regulating them has resulted in a crime rate that is the third lowest in the nation.

    This makes sense! There is no reason why gun owners should have to pay taxes to support police protection for people not wanting or will to protect themselves!! They should contribute more and pay their own way.

    Maybe Vermont will lead the way ......
     
  2. NorthernBornRebel

    NorthernBornRebel Keizer Member

    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    3
    I think it is wrong taxing people for exercising their right to choose not to own firearms. The government needs to get their hands out of the people's pockets. At least then they will know who owns firearms if/when they decide to take them.
     
  3. bcp

    bcp SW WA Member

    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    2
  4. Frog

    Frog Vancouver, Washington Member

    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks Bruce,

    I figured it was to good to be true!
     
  5. dario541

    dario541 medford, or 97504 Member

    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    24
    Frog mentions that Vermont is the only state where a person can carry concealed without a CHL. However, I have heard that residents of Alaska have this freedom, too. Anybody know for sure?
     
  6. Frog

    Frog Vancouver, Washington Member

    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    9
    It was all in the e-mail I received and I think you are right, but I'm not positive.
     
  7. onearmedswordsman

    onearmedswordsman Hillsboro, OR Member

    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    1
    As per the "Traveler's Guide to the Firearms Laws of the Fifty States", by J. Scott Kapas, Alaska:
    * statutory castle doctrine
    * open carry is unrestricted, generally accepted in most areas
    * "Shall issue" CCW, and automatic recognition of non-resident CCW.
    * if 21 or older, can carry concealed and loaded anywhere in your vehicle,

    and here is what you wanted to hear:

    Recently amended state laws to allow anyone 21 or older on foot to carry concealed w/o permit. Permits are issued for reciprocity purposes. So, in that regard, Alaskans seem to have it better than Vermont residents (No CCW/CHL in VT, thus, no reciprocity).