JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm new to this forum. I am a disabled Vietnam veteran. After I left Vietnam, I swore that I would not own a firearm.
But the times have changed. I am thinking of buying a firearm, but not sure which one. Probably only be used for self defense when the SHTF.
Any suggestions for a hesitant veteran, but knows he needs to get one?

I'm new to this forum. I am a disabled Vietnam veteran. After I left Vietnam, I swore that I would not own a firearm.
But the times have changed. I am thinking of buying a firearm, but not sure which one. Probably only be used for self defense when the SHTF.
Any suggestions for a hesitant veteran, but knows he needs to get one?

First welcome, you found a great place to meet and get info. No doubt some here would be GLAD to meet up with you there and help. Second thank you for your service. I know you did not hear that when you came home. You no doubt heard a lot of asshats talking crap.
So other than getting together with another member here my best choice would be a range with rentals. FAR FAR cheaper to try a gun and find out you don't like it rather than buy one and find that out. What I love will not always be what works for you. Keep poking around on this site and there is a HUGE wealth of info.

Welcome to the forum and thank you for your service.

I also suggest renting a gun to see if you like it before buying.
As stated in the above post , what I like , use or suggest may not work for you.

That said , for personal protection I lean towards a double action revolver in .38 Special or .357 Magnum.
Smith and Wesson make / made many various models that would fit this bill.
The models 10 , 15 , 19 , 28 , 65 and 66 are my favorites.
Ruger and their excellent but discontinued Security Six and Speed Six are great choices as well as the GP100 and SP101 revolvers.