JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hi Everyone,

So I am new to the world of gun ownership, and honesty dont know much of anything at all. I'm looking for a hunting rifle that will be good for deer and elk, but not so big that the recoil will knock me on my butt. I've been told that either a .270 or a 30-06 are going to be my best bet. Any brand preference? I would like to spend no more than $350.00 on the gun. Any knowledge you would like to pass along is greatly appreciated :)

Hi Everyone,

So I am new to the world of gun ownership, and honesty dont know much of anything at all. I'm looking for a hunting rifle that will be good for deer and elk, but not so big that the recoil will knock me on my butt. I've been told that either a .270 or a 30-06 are going to be my best bet. Any brand preference? I would like to spend no more than $350.00 on the gun. Any knowledge you would like to pass along is greatly appreciated :)
'

I would just buy an inexpensive 30-06 and scope,(the scope should cost as much as the rifle as a good rule of thumb).

BUT OTHERS HERE WILL TRY TO LEAD YOU ASTRAY!!!! they will tell you things like a 270 is a good choice with proper shot placement...DON"T BELIEVE THEM!!!!!
They are part of the secret 270 brotherhood. They are trying to convert all of us to bring down the price of 270 ammo. I heard they are even trying to get the military to use 270's.

But since you said,
"Any knowledge you would like to pass along is greatly appreciated"

Okay, here's some knowledge....