Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

New WASR denting ejected brass

Discussion in 'Maintenance & Gunsmithing' started by rhtwist, Nov 20, 2008.

1. rhtwist

rhtwist South Florida Member

Hello to all,
    I am new to AK's. Have Romanian Century Wasr. Noticed when firing that the brass had a dent across the brass about half way down. It this normal or something I should be concerned with. I don't reload at this time. Thanks for any responses.
    rhtwist

2. dan147

dan147 Helvetia, OR Member

normal, my friends PSL does the same, and many AK's i have seen do the same.

3. dan147

dan147 Helvetia, OR Member

and why would you shoot BRASS though a AK? you should be shooting steel case.

4. rhtwist

Hello dan147,
    Glad to here that it is normal. The easiest range I can get to is a Bass Pro and they only allow non-magnetic bullets. So far I've only been able to find Fiocchi FMJ that have a copper and lead bullet. Do you know of any alternatives? Stocking up some Silver Bear, when I decide to head out to the rifle range that is outdoors. Thanks for your response.
    rhtwist

5. sweetbeard

sweetbeard Beavertown OreGUN! New Member

Yes I have an idea.. spend more on gas and got to one of the outdoor shooting areas listed..

That will give you more trigger time.. And access to cheaper ammo .

6. rhtwist

Hello sweetbeard,
    Of course, that IS the correct sensible answer. But I've never been accused of being correct or sensible. I noticed it says Ex AK fanboy in your title, if I may ask why is that? Thanks BTW for responding.
    rhtwist

7. sweetbeard

sweetbeard Beavertown OreGUN! New Member

I sold all my guns... sad story really..

Sorry I couldn't have been more helpfull with my answer.. I love to shoot for FREE!

8. rhtwist

Sounds like an very unpleasant experience, was just wondering if you were a convert to some other platform? Take care and good luck.
    rhtwist

9. PhysicsGuy