JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I've been using a Hornaday tumbler for about two years ( bought it new). I just noticed it has three cracks around the rim where the top and bottom of the red bowls are melted or welded together, except the cracks run vertical were as the welds run horizontal.
My question is this repairable or junk. The cracks aren't big enough so the media fits thru it yet ,but is still functional Is there a way to repair this or do I use a heavy grade of tape and wait for the cracks to get bigger.

HotRod

Some "Gorilla Tape" might give you some more life from the bowl. One can "stop" a crack in many instances by drilling a small diameter hole at the end of the crack then clean the bowl well using soap, water, and a final clean with some laquer thinner. Then apply the Gorilla Tape which is like Duck Tape on steroids. At the worst you'll just have to replace the bowl. At best, you'll get more service out of it, perhaps only having to add more tape as time goes on.

An alternative of course might just be to get a new tumbler. A rotary one this time and start using stainless steel media for truly clean cases.

If you bought it from a place like midway, they'll take it back even if it is a few years old. Otherwise, I'd put some epoxy on the cracks.

Thanks for the feedback everyone.
Deadshot ,I thought about the Gorilla tape, but didn't think about drilling the holes at the end of the cracks. That might work for a while.
Nrc, I bought it local.
Lamrith I'll give that a try , but I've heard that it not too promising.

When it finishes going belly up . I'll invest in rotary tumbler and stainless steel media. Good advice Deadshot.Live and learn.
HotRod