JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I've been a member of a local indoor handgun range and just recently purchased my first shotgun to be used for sport trap shooting. I'm brand new to gun ownership and VERY much a beginner. I'm looking for tips on beginner-friendly and women-friendly gun shops and ranges, because I love shooting but don't know a lot about guns themselves. Also looking forward to reading through some of the forums, this site looks like it will be really helpful!

I makes me happy to see new people like you getting involved in the shooting sports.

I would look into some of the numerous female only gun classes. They really are nice for a beginner to grasp the basics without all of the macho testosterone filled gun nuts getting in the way. After that than keep educating yourself and have fun. I believe the marksman still offers a good class.

abrook,
I'm fairly new to gun ownership myself (last couple years). I think just being frank and honest with guys will get you far. I went to a gun show when I was very "green" and just kind of let some of the smaller table guys know I was new to guns. They were very helpful and asked what I was looking for and what I wanted to do with it etc. That was cool. Another thing I learned a TON from was this dude on Youtube that goes by the name Nutnfancy. I love that guy! He has several excellent videos and I watch his stuff for hours. Check him out.