JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey guys,
I'm 20 years old and I've lived in Oregon my whole life. I've always enjoyed the outdoor activities the state has to offer like camping, fishing, hiking, etc. But I want to get into big game hunting now as well. I am new to big game hunting and I'm getting ready for the upcoming deer season. I've done a fair bit of research and acquired most all the gear I need.
I have come here seeking any advice or pointers from a more experienced hunter. I have scouted some areas within the Tillamook state forest but have yet to have any luck finding signs of deer. From what I've heard the northwestern units in the state sound like promising areas to hunt and that clear cuts are good areas to scout for deer. I understand nobody wants to give their spot away but any advice or pointers on where to go would be appreciated greatly.
Thank you.

Find the most remote area away from roads and start walking.

Blacktail hunting has a couple of different methods.
Spot and stalk, glassing cuts, and plain old luck.

Spot and stalk days can be measured in hours per hundreds of yards covered. Usually in the dense woods. Follow a game trail, moving super slow. Watching and listening. Using binoculars to pick the woods apart.
Glassing cuts can be productive. You need to find why they are in the cut. Blacktail tend to be edge feeders and hang out at the edges with an easy escape route nearby. If they are transversing a cut it is for a reason, either going to food or bedding areas.

Every blacktail I've shot has either sprung up from the brush and booked it or just casually stepped out in front of me. You wouldn't believe how many hide in plain sight perfectly still until they just can't take it anymore and run for their lives

Last Edited:
The PNW has become very difficult to hunt in.