JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
OK, I have over 45 years of firearm, hobby gunsmithing, reloading and mechanical experience. But I have little to no experience with the AR platform other then shooting someone's over the years. My son bought a brand new S&W M&P 15 Sport 2 in 5.56 on Saturday. When we shot it yesterday we experienced a problem when feeding from the new thirty round magazines. It ran flawlessly with the factory ASC ten round mag and with the brand new Magpul MOE PMAG 30 AR/M4 Gen M2 mags when loaded to ten rounds or less. With more then ten rounds , the first round charged would chamber and fire, but the round feed off the mag would be bent and stuck part way in the chamber. The bullet tip is striking something bending the case neck and bullet down and bulging the case just below the shoulder. The ammo is brand new bulk pak American Eagle "Military Grade" 55 grain fmj 5.56x45. Do the new mags just need to left loaded to relax there springs somewhat? Or does the rifle just need more shooting for break in?

So a majority of ar malfunctions are caused by magazine problems. Try another mag would be my first "fix". That being said, thereare a number of things that can cause issues.... i even found an m&p one time that had an ejector that was machined long and caused issues feeding. Make sure at least to start that the bolt carrier is nice and wet with oil and see if that helps some.

If its consistently an issue, consider sending it back to smith but i have found they have been pretty good rifles overall.

Thank you for the reply. I was beginning to think I posted in the wrong spot. We had to two brand new Magpuls and both did the same thing. Bolt and carrier were wet with oil. I thought that would be best for break in. it looks pretty good for the price range and shot very well other then the feeding issue.