JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I just got a set of Hornady Custom .380 dies, I was setting up the dies so I can get my load on. But I noticed that the sizing die was scuffing the brass pretty bad. I'm new at all this, but this didn't seem right to me. My Lee Carbide .38 SPL dies do not scuff at all. The Hornady are supposedly Titanium coated. Is this normal? I don't want to size a 100 new Starline cases, if I'm doing any damage to them.

The case on the left has not been sized, the two on the right have been put through the sizer. The arrows are where the scuffs stop, I did clean it when I received it, and it looks clean inside.

Any input is appreciated.

Thanks - TDH

20200530_170927.jpg

It's not pretty, but I've seen this before. What you've got there isn't the worst. Many people use case lube with carbide dies just to get the best cosmetic result. You're trading off the bother of removing case lube for a bit of speed. And cosmetic appearance can be a casualty. That's why I have a set of steel dies and a set of carbide dies for most pistol calibers that I load. Scuffing isn't the only issue with carbide/titanium nitride dies. Depending on brand of brass, you can get distortion of the case from the carbide ring. Like a ridge left in the web. Or the "hour glass effect."

As to why your Lee .38 Special carbide die doesn't leave marks, some are just made smoother than others. If you want to polish this sizing die, use a bore mop and some automotive car polish or rubbing compound. Don't over-do it.

One other thing, you're sizing new, unfired brass. Which is pretty dry.

According to Hornady since they are titanium they don't require any lube, but I did shoot a little lube on one to see if it made a difference. It didn't. I used One Shot, its the only lube I have on hand.