JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Ok, so I've decided to get off my *** and buy my first gun. the gun I have always wanted is a steyr AUG, so naturally I've settled on a Mini 14. Same thing, right!? ;)

I've shot a couple .223's but it was like 20 years ago when I was a teenager; an M16 and an AR 180, and I really liked both of them.

But I'm thinking if I just had one gun, the Mini 30 might be a better choice, I'd like to maybe start deer hunting, but since I'm a noob I gotta be honest and admit I'm not going to shoot one in the eye @ 500 yards with a .223

So then I start reading that Ruger re-tooled in '05 and newer guns are way more accurate.

So here's my questions: how does a mini 30 'feel' compared to a mini 14? way more kick, or just a bit? Muzzle Climb in rapid fire etc.

Do I need a 'more accurate' mini 30? I'm not target shooting, but I would like to hit what I aim at as I get a little better.

is there a huge difference in ammo cost?

Other major issues I'm just too dumb to know yet? In particular any common trouble areas on these guns I should pay attention to?

The mini 30 seems to be a great deer rifle if you ask my brother. He has every caliber in bolt actions but lately he has switched to it for deer.

Thanks for the comments so far guys, I really appreciate it. The damned things are hard to find. It's going to live on a boat so I'm pretty set on Stainless.

Nobody would really be too worried getting an older series gun?

Pokerace since you have both can you comment on how they 'feel' compared to each other when shooting?

I have both the mini 14 and mini 30. They are a hoot to shoot in my opinion. Seem to be very accurate out to 100-150 yards or so. Not like an AR but plenty accurate enough for deer hunting in the woods.