JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So i'm extremely new to the idea of reloading but want to learn how as a fun hobby or for any apocalypse type situations... So i have an Ak47 and a 9mm pistol and am interested in reloading rounds for both. I guess my first question is: Do they make reloading presses that will reload both rifle and handgun ammo? Do you just need to have the right die for whichever type of round you want to load? Or are there separate sizes of presses for pistols and rifles? Also, what are the necessary components to load a round? From what i gather you need casings, primer, powder, and bullets? Which presses are good quality? Are there any economical starter kits out there? I apologize for such rookie questions and terrible terminology...I understand that i can find most of this info spending ten minutes with google... But i just want to hear from some first hand reloaders and get a few different opinions. please don't chew me out for wanting to reload such cheap rounds... I just think it would be a fun hobby and a useful skill. Thank you all in advance for the information!:cool:

From what it sounds like, I have two observations:

The two rounds you are looking at reloading are both fairly inexpensive, for "SHTF" use, I would not recommend reloading, and instead would take the hundreds of dollars you would spend on reloading equipment, and instead going out right now and buying a few thousand rounds of each.

Of these two rounds, 9mm is easy to reload, reloadable brass cases are common and easy to find, and doesn't require any special reloading tools. 7.62x39 when you buy reloadable brass cases are more expensive, and are not commonly found at shooting ranges or pits. You cannot reload steel cases.