JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am new to the reloading arena. I did reloaded shotgun shells when I was much younger (many years ago) but I am sure reloading brass is going to be a different game. We just received our new Dillon RL 550B and are planning on getting it set up today. Can someone with some experience give a little info on bench structure and size? I am building a dedicated loading bench starting from a left over kitchen cabinet lower. I plan to put a 2x4 frame on ~16" centers on top of the cabinet with two 4x4 legs on one side and the cabinet itself for the other side support. Then top it with a 3/4" sheet of plywood. I picture it looking somewhat like a desk when I am through. My primary questions are: will this be strong enough, how big should it be and where is the best place to mount the reloader and still have room enough for all the other accessories? We have watched a very informative utube video on putting the reloader itself together and we of course will follow the directions (haven't read them yet) but I just have not heard much about the base bench. Any advise will be appreciated.

My loading bench is a roll away steel frame that has a 2' x 1.5' top and 3/4" plywood.Cramped but it works.The bench you want to build sounds awesome compared to mine.The only suggestions I can make are to secure it to the floor and put a layer of masonite or similar material on top of the plywood.Like on your kitchen counter.Much easier cleanup.

I like the idea of a more cleanable counter top for the bench and I was probably thinking around 2'x4' or so. Nice to hear that it can be done with even less. Why secured to the floor? Would the bench move a lot when loading if it was not?
The NRMA bench is way cool! Might be a good plan for the future