Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

My 1911 Dilema

Discussion in 'General Firearm Discussion' started by Joe Link, Dec 29, 2009.

1. Joe Link

Joe Link Portland, OR Well-Known Member Staff Member Lifetime Supporter 2015 Volunteer 2016 Volunteer

I'm having a hard time making a decision here, and though I think I've considered just about everything, I'd love to run it by you guys and get your opinions.

I've been saving for a Dan Wesson CCO for 6-8 months now and I finally have the cash. On top of that, I received a bit for Christmas, so now I have around $1700. I'm really torn between a couple choices regarding what I can do. What I'm looking for is the ideal 1911 for carry, preferably in a lightweight CCO configuration, but possibly a straight commander.

Option #1 - Dan Wesson CCO & Kahr PM9

If I purchased the DW I'd have enough left over to add a bit of cash and purchase a Kahr PM9 for Jenny to carry. I've been wanting to get Jenny a carry pistol for some time now, but she hates the P3AT and we haven't had the extra money to swing a Kahr. If I went this route both her and I would be set as far as carry guns go.

Option #2 - Fusion Lightweight CCO

I've heard nothing but good things about guns from Fusion and I can get one for around $1700 with the options I want and the IonBond finish. My worry here is whether the price difference between the DW and the Fusion is worth it, considering my limited budget (I have to save quite a while for anything I want). In head to head comparisons they say the fit & finish of the Fusion is that of a custom gun, but they shoot within a small fraction of an inch of each other and reliability is the same.