Must Have Rifle Tools

Reactions
I am relatively new to rifles and want to get tools that work well. I have been looking at a rifle vise that appears to be a great buy. Most rifle vises have too many plastic parts. The vise pictured below is only $58 on Amazon, and mostly metal, with good reviews. I have two scopes to mount: a cheap Simmons for my .22 and a Leupold for my Weatherby 6.5 creedmoor. The .22 is a Ruger 10-22 and the Weatherby Vanguard is a bolt-action. I may be taking on more than I want, but I thought I would give it a try. I am going to buy a Wheeler torque wrench, some locktite, and I have the Talley rings for the 6.5. The Simmons comes with rings, and I already have a picatinny rail for mounting. The vise below has a level. Is there anything else I need?

612stRBTI-L._SL1500_.jpg

Last edited:
Oh and @G8rHunter regarding your question...It seems to me you are pretty well covered there. Did you buy a quality cleaning kit and maybe a boresnake for each caliber?

Reactions
A torque screwdriver (wrench) that measures in inch pounds.
For scope ring screws and action screws.

A good, one piece cleaning rod (and tip kit) like a Dewey.
And probably a bore guide.

A good bore cleaning product.
Boretech Eliminator is popular in the other thread.
Perhaps Eezox CLP (won the 11 month outdoor test) for the final wipe down.

Scope ring lapping kit.
Some say not needed, but I may try one next time.

Non-cheapo screwdrivers....the good ones are called hollow-ground gunsmith screwdrivers.
You can tell a lot about a man by the type of screwdriver he uses on his guns.
I've had this set since forever and it's been great.
https://www.amazon.com/Forster-8-Piece-Gunsmith-Screwdriver-Set/dp/B003F6FKBA
The sets you will see are mostly are the removable tip variety and they're OK, BUT there are times when you need a slim shank and that's where the old school Bonanza set shines !