JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
I renewed my Oregon CHL through the Multnomah Co sheriff office (MCSO) and received my receipt which is valid for 45 days. Here is what the stamp on my receipt says: "This stamp grants a 45 day temporary MCSO Concealed Handgun License. You are allowed to carry your weapon concealed with this receipt until you have received your actual card which could take up to 45 days unless you are notified that you were denied or revoked." I don't know who told you that you could not conceal carry until your new card is in your possession. That does not match the wording on the receipt. Check your receipt...BTW, I have renewed my Oregon CHL several times over the years and it has always gone smoothly with no hitches. I am a Washington state resident.
Kenjo, Now I think that the sherrif's sub-station I went to has their OWN agenda! The receipt I got was not a form and probably was drafted by someone in the office? It does not state anywhere on it that it is my "temporary" CC license. My last renewal was just as you have described. It WAS a reciept and also permission to continue to carry uninterrupted! Either the sub-station at 4735 E. Burnside is doing their own thing in spite of procedure or perhaps something has changed due to a new edict by a new batch of Libtard county comissioners??? The only thing I did different this time was to go to a sheriffs office a little closer to me. Maybe the rules have changed if your license is expired? Who knows, maybe my looks had something to do with it although I didn't make a face like in my picture! I am basically a positive, fun-loving guy until .gov over-reach rears it's ugly head!
P.S, I sat in my car stewing about what had just occurred a little too long. I tried to go back in and challenge/question their mandate but door was locked at 4PM on the dot!