JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
I've been a resident here in WA for almost 6 years now. It took a while to get settled in and the business up and running. My GF of almost 8 years is not a gun person to say the least, due to a situation she was put in many many years ago at college abroad (held for ransom in Morraco). She has always known I like guns, even knows I have a few ;) But I never kept them around her because I respect her wishes to not really be around them.

Fast forward to now. She is becoming more tolerant of gun magazines laying all over the house and me going shooting with friends. She knows the day will come when I have a safe in the house and they are stored at home. She says she is ok with it now. Problem is....

I have half a dozen here that I purchased here or moved with me from michigan. What is the best way to move lets just say "alot" here that I have owned for a decade. With washington laws about collecting a "USE" tax on the retail value I do not see an easy or any affordable way, short of flying back and loading them in a uhaul truck and driving cross country. This was the recomended course the local gun shop suggested. That isn't very affordable either. I was thinking about just checking a few every year when I fly home at christmas. But that would take forever as well.

This will also become an issue when my dad finally decides to pass on his collection and my grandfathers as well. They are both in Texas.

I'm sure other have had similar issues. SUGGESTIONS?

It is not illegal to ship guns you own to yourself.
You are the shipper and the recipient, all good.
Pistols I think have to go 2-day priority with UPS.
Not totally sure on the 2-day part, but 100% on the first statement.
Fly home, pack a crate, be home to sign for it.
Be sure to insure the shipment!!

Thanks,