JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have a well used model 28 highway patrolman revovler that has been shot a lot - it is shaving lead. I am looking for a good gunsmith in the PDX area that knows Smith and Wesson revovlers well - any reccomendations. What I would like done if possible is to refurbish and tighten up this revolver. I am aslo curious if anyone knows if S&W offers a service to fix / refurbish this revolver. I am not the original owner. Overall the gun seems to be in pretty good shape but I am no expert.

Respectfully
James Ruby

James,
You might consider calling S&W and ask about it. I know for a fact they can do this sort of thing as they have done it for me on an old K frame 38 several years back. You will have postage there and back but you can sure bet it will be done right. While you are at it see about refinish and things like that. It may not be that much more. On that old patrolman you probably didn't pay that much for it, but if you get it fully restored and you really like it then you have a brand new gun.

Now if you can find someone locally that can do it and is trustworthy then I would support local people. Don't expect it to be cheaper. My other thought would be if you are going to use someone local then contact the American Pistolsmiths Guild and get a name of one of their expert people. I know there is one in Grants Pass. I have also been badly burned by less than expert repairs and will not let anyone handle my stuff again unless they work for S&W or they are a member of the guild. I do not know of a local person who I would have confidence enough in to allow him to work on my piece, but I haven't tried most of them either.

My 2 cents.

Lyn

Lyn