Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

mid length handguard problem

Discussion in 'Maintenance & Gunsmithing' started by NoSmoking, Apr 5, 2013.

1. NoSmoking

NoSmoking Springfield Member

hey guys, so I just got my bcm upper (with barrel installed) in the mail a few days back (happy!) and I'm having trouble getting the handguard installed on it. this is my first build so I'm probably just doing something wrong.

I can't seem to slide the handguard on. seems its catching on the grove near the barrel nut. do I just need to manhandle the sucker on?

I tried to get some pictures.. but lighting isn't great. Take a look and any advice would be greatly appreciated.

C360_2013-04-05-19-42-16.jpg C360_2013-04-05-19-42-58.jpg

C360_2013-04-05-19-42-58.jpg

C360_2013-04-05-19-42-16.jpg

2. ridnjon

ridnjon vancouver wa Active Member

Fully compress the delta ring and make sure your all the way forward

3. NoSmoking

yeah, I had trouble compressing it fully, but had some help.. we got as far as you see in the pic. I just can't get it properly seated. was thinking I was missing something =/

4. Velzey

Velzey Estacada, Oregon Gunsmith Gunsmith Bronze Vendor Bronze Supporter

Yah that delta ring needs to be compressed all the way, and as evenly as possible. Just a little crooked and your seeing what will happen.

5. ridnjon

If you were closer I would lend you my tool.

6. HahnsXD

HahnsXD Battle Ground WA Active Member

At least buy him dinner first :laugh:

7. ridnjon

If I gave him my tool I want dinner first! Lol

8. NoSmoking

lol a tool would be nice, however... In my extremely limited experience with these.. I'm 100% sure we are compressing it as much as it will compress.