JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
This headline caught my eye so I read it:

"Prince William: shooting skills shown off in Sydney"

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/new...liam-shooting-skills-shown-off-in-Sydney.html

So from 100 meters, he did 4 groups of 5. Averaging a 104mm spread. (works out to a tick more than 4 inch grouping @ 109 yards).

"...a rating described as “excellent” by one senior officer..."

Now, I'm a newbie shooter, but know a few folks that can do as well and better.

From a military perspective, would you describe that work as "excellent"?

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/new...liam-shooting-skills-shown-off-in-Sydney.html

So from 100 meters, he did 4 groups of 5. Averaging a 104mm spread. (works out to a tick more than 4 inch grouping @ 109 yards).

4" @109 yards SUCKS. I would be ashamed of myself for a group like that.

Aw, give em a break, he is firing a short barreled, belt fed, light machine gun..:gun06:

To qualify in the US military all you have to do is hit the target, I think you guys are being a bit rough on the guy. I don't think the goal was to pull out a rifle and be 100% accurate. He was using a belt fed machine gun that's anything but accurate and it was his first day with the weapon.

The grouping isn't anything to write home about but I'm willing to bet he could do better with some more training and time with that weapon.

"Just over an hour earlier, Prince William had been able to exchange experiences of sleeping on the streets when he visited a hostel for the homeless in Sydney."

Based on that statement I'm thinking he was only at the range for 1 hr? I don't know, hard to tell based on the column.

You can see from the pic he was firing on full auto - probably trying to get 3-5 round bursts.
I don't think his grouping was too bad considering!