JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm shopping for ammo for my first deer hunt. I'm using a Browning 7mm rem mag and I'd like to find a round that doesn't recoil as much as normal. It sounds like the Remington Managed Recoil loads are good, does anyone here have any experience with them?

I have no experience with managed recoil loads. They shoot a lighter bullet at a lower velocity to reduce recoil. If you aren't into heavy recoil, a magnum probably isn't the best caliber for you. The last thing you want to do is develop a flinch.

If you're shooting a rifle with a recoil pad and still are feeling "bit" by recoil, try a PAST recoil sheild. I have one and it works well for sighting in a rifle and target shooting.

When it comes time to firing a rifle or shotgun at game, I don't even feel the recoil as I'm too focused on the target.

For this area, I wouldn't feel undergunned with a .243. It is perfectly adequate for the brushy hunting areas around here. For the record, although I own 30-06 and .308 rifles, I prefer to tote my 30-30. It is light, handy and doesn't have much recoil. Remember: Hitting the target is all that counts!

The main reason I'm using this gun is because it the rifle I have. It was the rifle my late grandpa hunted with. Eventually I will be picking up a newer gun with a smaller caliber.

It also seems like you can't find "light" rounds anywhere right now, so I guess that answers the question of using them this year.

The main reason I'm using this gun is because it the rifle I have. It was the rifle my late grandpa hunted with. Eventually I will be picking up a newer gun with a smaller caliber.

It also seems like you can't find "light" rounds anywhere right now, so I guess that answers the question of using them this year.