JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
I'd be happy to help you in this endeavor. I've been producing BP for about 20 years. There are definitely a lot of ways to make BP. Here's a few hints. If you like them I'd be happy to share more with you.
1. Is it legal? Yes
2. Making your own charcoal is just about mandatory. Unless your buying a kit. Do NOT use any form of charcoal that's designed to cook with.
3. Order your KCLO3. 99%. It ships without concern of ATF. It's not much $$$.
4. ^^^ Do not use stump remover or any product that is anything but KCLO3
5. Pharmaceutical grade Sulphur is also cheep. Easy to find. If you want to make your own Sulphur I'd go with iron pyrite.
6. Dextrin is a binder. Some don't bother. It makes sense and it's cheep.
7. You will need a mill of some sort. Lots of folks use a rock polisher. This will be the most expensive item to purchase. Or make one. But the parts will still cost about the same. Lots of homemade mills on U-tube.
If you tell me the tree species around you I'll tell you which ones to use for your charcoal. Last, I can't tell how much fun and what a blast - pun intended - to shoot something with your own BP. For grins, there was a group of us who tried to make their own BP as if an apocalypses happened and you could not buy ingredients. Then take an old truck apart to form a gun/cannon out of the drive train and shot the bearings. I wouldn't want to have to depend on this but it was fun. Or PM me. Get my Ph# and I'll give you all the help you want.