Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

machine shop/ customizing question

Discussion in 'General Firearm Discussion' started by ohsocountry1, Jul 19, 2010.

1. ohsocountry1

ohsocountry1 clackamas oregon Member

I am pretty new to customizing guns and I work at a machine shop with every tool imaginable and was wondering if there was anything I could customize myself. Like I saw a slide with 3 holes in the top I was wondering what that was for? Any help thanks all. Maybe if it works on mine I can customize stuff for others for free I just love meeting people and doing machining.

2. numbnutz

numbnutz molalla Active Member

The three holes on the top are most likely what's called porting and can be done on a pistol or rifle. It helps with muzzle rise, the gases escape from those holes and push the muzzle down.

I'm not a machinist so I don't know how hard it is but I'm sure alot of members would take you up on the offer.

3. ohsocountry1

I know im dumb but be nice are those holes in the barrel also?

4. numbnutz

numbnutz molalla Active Member

Don't be so hard on yourself, asking questions is the only way your going to learn. Yes they are in the barrel as well.

5. ohsocountry1

Anybody do this themselves? any tips considering it.

6. Phillyfan

Phillyfan Oregon City, Oregon Bronze Supporter Bronze Supporter

I know it makes your gun a heck of a lot louder, but I haven't ever done it to any of my guns. Just seen others and read about it.

7. MountainBear

MountainBear Sweet Home, OR Well-Known Member

I've ported some barrels before. Use a digital readout and take your time. Look at lots of options before starting the project, and find the one that you like the best.

Porting is best done on a range gun. It's generally not something done to carry guns, as the flash from the ports can do fun things to your night vision in low light shooting...

8. ohsocountry1

Ok do you have any pics of yours?