JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Okay, as a total newb to centerfire reloading (I do have experience loading shotgun shells in a MEC600), I am going really slowly to make sure I don't bung things up while I get a feel for the process. I've got a Lee Turret Press, but I'm doing my first rounds all by hand with a Lee hand press. I'm working on my first batch of 9mm. I had no trouble cleaning, decapping and priming the cases, that went very smoothly. Thanks again to @Benchrest who got me some bullets and primers I needed to complete the whole process.

This morning, I've moved on to try and complete some rounds. I ran 10 cases through the expanding die. I test measured and re-measured several shots using Hodgdon CFE Pistol and charged several cases. I went to set my first bullet using a 115g copper jacketed bullet. I set up the bullet seating die per the instructions and set the first bullet. When I pulled it out though, the bullet had dropped all the way into the case, just poking above the top of the case. The bullet was moving freely, so I turned it over and was able to pull it by hand back out to about the right length, which I tested with a reloading gauge. Since it was loose, I decided I would put it in the crimp die, and set it first for a light crimp, with no real change, then a more firm crimp. Even with that firm crimp, I could still fairly easily twist the bullet in the case with my fingers, and pulling up, the bullet came up enough that I could see the crimp line on the bullet itself.