JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm looking for someone in the Salem area who does gunstock repair.

I have an Argentine Mauser 1909 with several deep hairline cracks. Basically, the stock is broken and is not safe to fire. This is to much for a total amateur like myself and would like a professional to do it.

Can anyone recommend some reasonably priced wood workers?

TIA!

Pics would help. My friend was able to glue a single shot shotgun stock back together with an epoxy product. They were cracks that went all the way through the wood, which was very thin, that attached the stock to the action. That might be an option.

I am a woodworker myself, i might be able to offer some pointers.

Those 1891 Argentine mauser stocks are a real testament to the design and craftsmanship of the manufacturers. When you take out the barrel and action, look down into the stock at all that inletting and router work... I am sure the '09s must be similiar.

Here are pictures of the cracks. The receiver area is the worst and most critical. Next are the cracks near the crossbolt. Finally, there's another one near the barrel band. I think they can all be repaired by someone with the skill and knowledge.

But, i'm not up to this kind of repair.:(

receivercracks.jpg

cracks.jpg

Morecracks.jpg

Rearbandsideview.jpg

Rearbandtopview.jpg

I have repaired a hairline crack in an antique rifle stock with two-part epoxy glue by carefully spreading the crack and injecting the epoxy with a hypodermic needle, then clamping the stock to hold the crack together for 24 hours. Afterwards, I was able to make the crack invisible by sanding with #600 paper and using Casey's Tru-oil to blend the repaired area into the existing oil finish.