JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
My first weapon growing up in England was a .177 cal break barrel air rifle when I turned 14.
My dad still uses it to look after his garden and still has over 4000 of the original 10000 Eley wasp pellets we bought with the rifle. I probably shot 5000 of them before I left for college 17 years ago. My dad - the 1 shot 1 kill sniper :)

I'm looking to add an air rifle back into my collection. Something appeals about cheap projectiles and near silent plinking/hunting opportunities.
Especially on my 10 acre property where shooting might bother the neighbors - at least the amount of shooting I would want to do out there!

I have no experience or knowledge with PCP rifles. Can soeone school me on why I should or shouldn't have one?

There are a lot to compare on this market. I think I've decided on .22 for better knock down power for the small vermin on my property.

I've been looking at the RWS Diana 350 magnum, Air Arms TX200, various Gamo rifles.

I'm not opposed to a break barrel, but understand that I lose some accuracy with one of those.

I'm not worried about velocity numbers - Another reason for the .22 over .177 - I've read that diabolo pellets don't do well going supersonic and back to subsonic.

I have a feeling that once I start out with a small caliber rifle it may progress into something of a whole new collection.

We need to chat then. I've done extensive research on air rifles for use in wilderness survival and have some suggestions. Email me if you'd like. I may also have a new RWS I may part with. Maybe?

I'm thinking of having a cheap one I keep in the truck - maybe even one of those dual caliber Beeman break barrels. That and a couple tins of pellets should be good for a few rabbits in a survival situation.