JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Looking into getting a new Leupold 6.5x20x50 scope since my other one was stolen. I see that the new rage is first focal plane over the normal second focal plane. Then there cds vs bdc turrets then mil dot vs moa. I have never used a ffp scope before so I'm not sure how I would like it. I will be putting it on my P.O Ackley .308 win. Will be target shooting with it the most and maybe once a year hunt elk with. If I had to I could always take it off and put on my 4.5x14 vx3 and hunt with that. So could I get your take on this?what should I go with, first focal plane or second focal plane I'm leaning towards Moa over mil dot and not sure if I should go with cds or bdc turrets.
So............?

I wouldn't want to hunt elk with 6.5 as the lowest power I could use, dark timber close-up shots would be tough.
I don't like ffp for hunting, lots do, personal preference. When I'm taking a long shot, I want thin crosshairs at max power. When I'm in the dark timber, I want thick crosshairs at a low power. FFP does just the opposite.
Leupold 6.5-20 was a great scope years ago, many other options with a high mag range with a ton of options these days, my personal opinion. My elk rifles wear Leupold VX6 2-12 with long range duplex.
I'm not sure what you exactly mean by target shooting, but to me that means high mag. If I were you, maybe something like a bushnell 4.5-30 would be worth a try, SFP of course. ;)
Good luck.

If you have a reticle with some sort of BDC or ranging capability through subtending dots, FFP is the way to go because the value of the BDC and subtentions remain constant.