JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I know this is a dumb question, but if a person does not have their concealed permit, is it illegal to store a loaded gun in the glove box of their car? I ask because my girlfriend does not have her permit (she's an AK resident), and being a young woman driving alone can, from what I understand, be a little unnerving. So being unable to legally get an Oregon permit could she keep a loaded gun locked in the glove box without picking up a gun charge?

Thank you,
Jordan

She can open carry as long as she is not in city limits that prohibit loaded magazines/guns like Portland but she can not keep a loaded gun in the glove box without a CCL.

Why can't she get an Oregon CCL? I'm a WA resident and have my OR CCL.

If you call OSP they will most likely tell you to make it visible or dont bring one at all. In theory she should be able to keep it on her dash board or maybe even a cup holder but I wouldn't mess with it. Before I had my CHL I was pulled over heading to Eastern Oregon with about 5 unloaded pistols all up front in the cup holder because that is what I was told to do by OSP. The Officers did not like it though, they prefer you completely disassemble the gun and store it in the trunk or if you drive a truck, in the glove box; but disassembled...not loaded

I don't believe you need any kind of concealed carry permit in Alaska. Can't wait t move there.

AK? OR is cold enough for me, thank you. :)

You don't need a permit in AK. But, if you do not have one, the AK resident cannot enjoy the benefit of reciprocity, where honored. Thus, they issue permits to those interested.

Vermont residents are hosed. They don't need permits but don't have the option.