JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Status
Reactions
I have a CHL. I knows it is legal for me to keep a loaded handgun locked in a small safe under the seat in my car, but would it be legal for my wife to drive the car with out a CHL? My understanding is that it would be because the gun is locked with out the key in the lock.

What about traveling in Washington with it loaded in the safe? I currently don't have a license for WA.

You need to check each states laws. I doubt thatit would be legal for some one with out a permit to be driving around with a load handgun in anything with out being licensed to.
Just my thougjts about it.

IANAL (every time I see that acronym I think "I anal" instead of I am not a lawyer :D )

But my understanding is that if the firearm is in a locked container and unloaded then passengers and driver do not need a CHL?

But the container cannot be the glove compartment?

If the firearm is in the trunk or otherwise separate from the passenger compartment, then everybody is fine. Again, not sure about it being loaded though.

This is of interest to me because my daily driver is an SUV and technically the only part of it that is separate from the passenger compartment is the engine compartment. The cargo space has dividers, but a passenger, if they tried hard enough, could get into the cargo compartment from the passenger compartment.

I have a CHL. I knows it is legal for me to keep a loaded handgun locked in a small safe under the seat in my car, but would it be legal for my wife to drive the car with out a CHL? My understanding is that it would be because the gun is locked with out the key in the lock.

What about traveling in Washington with it loaded in the safe? I currently don't have a license for WA.

RCW 9.41.050
RCW 9.41.050: Carrying firearms.